Introduction

During this course, you will learn about the history, the production from barley to bottle, identify the characteristics in different whisky types and styles, and practice the nosing and tasting techniques. The knowledge and skills you acquire will assist you in communicating authoritatively about whisky whether you work in retail, hospitality, or you are a whisky enthusiast who simply likes to share that passion with others. It also strengthens your skills in guiding your staff in various aspects of whisky and builds the better whisky list to grow sales.

Structure
Classroom instruction and demonstrations
Whisky tasting techniques training
Syllabus

Session 1: Tasting whisky techniques, systematic tasting approach, whisky with food

Session 2: Responsible drinking

Session 3: The origins of whisky and its history

Session 4: The making process of malt whisky, from ingredients to variables affecting distillation and maturation

Session 5: Types and style of whiskies, Coffey still

Session 6: The law of Scotch whisky

Session 7: Other non-Scotch whiskies

*Course including 23 items of whisky to be sampled

Who should attend

Trade Professionals
Retailers
Restaurateurs

Hospitality Industry Professionals
Journalists
Whisky Enthusiast

Course format 
  • 5 lessons of 3 hours each,  a total of 15 hours
  • Including 23 items of whisky to be sampled
Course fee

Standard  HKD 8,600 per person, HKD 8,300 each for 2 persons
Early Bird*  HKD 8,200 per person, HKD 8,000 each for 2 persons

*Early bird: paid one month in advance of the enrolled course begins
*Examination fee inclusive.
*Course to be confirmed if reaching a minimum of 6 attendants.

Options

Schedule

Lesson
Date
Time
Place

Lesson 1
Lesson 2
Lesson 3
Lesson 4
Lesson 5
Exam

23 Feb (Tue)
25 Feb (Thur)
27 Feb (Sat)
2 Mar (Tue)
4 Mar (Thur)
TBA

6:30 – 9:30 pm
6:30 – 9:30 pm
2:00 
– 5:00 pm
6:30 – 9:30 pm
6:30 – 9:30 pm
7:00 
– 9:00pm

All in Central

**Feb 2021 class early bird rate valid till 16 Feb 2021.

Schedule

Lesson
Date
Time
Place

Lesson 1
Lesson 2
Lesson 3
Lesson 4
Lesson 5
Exam

24 Nov (Tue)
30 Nov (Mon)
3 Dec (Thur)
7 Dec (Mon)
10 Dec (Thur)
TBA (weekday evening)

7:00 – 10:00 pm
7:00 – 10:00 pm
7:15 – 10:15 pm
7:00 – 10:00 pm
7:00 – 10:00 pm
7:00 – 9:00 pm
 

All in Central

*Nov class Early Bird rate valid till 10 Nov 2020*

Schedule

Lesson
Date
Time
Place

Lesson 1
Lesson 2
Lesson 3
Lesson 4
Lesson 5
Exam

14 Oct (Wed)
17 Oct (Sat)
20 Oct (Tue)
22 Oct (Thur)
24 Oct (Sat)
weekday evening (TBA)

7:00 – 10:00 pm
2:00 – 5:00 pm
7:00 – 10:00 pm
7:00 – 10:00 pm
2:00 – 5:00 pm
7:00 – 9:00 pm

All in Central

**Oct 2020 class early bird rate valid till 2 Oct 2020

Enrollment Form